The Carnegie Book Award

Ten students participating in ‘The Carnegie Book Award Shadowing Scheme’ attended the annual judging event in the college library on 19 June. The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. The ten ‘Shadowers’ had been tasked with reading eight shortlisted titles over a fourteen week period. This year’s shortlist was dominated by novels of identity, friendship and survival.

The students were invited to vote for their favourite book, Railhead and Salt to the Sea were announced as joint winners. The official winner, as voted by CILIP (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals), was Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys, a fictionalised account of the worst maritime disaster in history. The Amnesty Honour, awarded to authors whose books teach children about truth, freedom and justice, was presented to Zana Fraillon for The Bone Sparrow, the story of a boy living in an immigration detention centre in Australia. Please visit the official website, for further information regarding all titles. Shortlisted titles from 2004 – 2017 are available for loan from the College Library.